Down and Out (Assignment 3)

For this assignment we were asked to present a short visual essay. 3 to 5 images on any subject of interest, accompanied by a shots written section. This is what I came up with.

An estimated 4672 Londoners will not be secured of sleeping indoors tonight. Some call them vagabonds, rough sleepers or wonderers. I met a man called Charlie at Our Lady of Hal Church in Camden Town where he started his mornings with a care package consisting of a cup of soup and a slice of white bread.

There are roughly 20 established homeless shelters around London depending on the season. They provide aid in various ways. The shelters that provide food only do so for a few hours per week. After morning soup in I walked with Charlie and his canine companion Shannon to his day spot where he begs for change in entrance of Tottenham Court Road Underground station.

From there I went to the London Jesus Centre where I met Victor. A young Russian labourer that fell into a drug induced downwards spiral. He didn’t want to say more about his life but I could see the pain in his eyes.

I couldn’t stop thinking about these men when I went to bed that night. I felt thankful that it wasn’t me.

Tags: , , , , ,

About I AM Photography

Born in sunny South Africa I am an adventure seeker with a taste for beauty and good pictures. I have been in the industry for a couple of years now and learned my tricks from the best. www.iamfotografie.com

Leave a Reply

